Spun: Maiden

Possibly the only thing more lovely than handpainted yarn is handpainted roving and that is only because I get to turn it into yarn myself. Spinning is still a real challenge for me and always involves a lot of unladylike language, but I’m able to at least turn out a useable product….if by useable you understand that the weight is not at all consistent.

I managed to drag the process out for, oh, four months, but that amount of quality time with Liz’s spinning wheel turned this Marianne roving from Yarn Love:

Into this:

That’s about four ounces of 2-ply merino yarn that I’m calling heavy worsted weight, even though there are a few parts that stray boldly into the bulky weight catagory. Its pretty well balanced, has a really nice drape, and is as crazy soft as you would expect merino to be.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 03:19:23

    It’s beautiful! I love the way the colors twist around each other when you plied it; it’s not what I expected from seeing the roving. This is all still such a mystery to me!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers