If I blog about vegetable stock, does that make me the most boring person alive?

Because I haven’t updated this blog in a month, and vegetable stock is all I’ve got.

I decided sometime last year that I was tired of spending money of stock that was loaded with salt and full of things I couldn’t pronounce, and started making my own.  To make it manageable, any time I prepare vegetables–which is nearly every day–I toss the scraps in a ziplock that lives in the freezer.  Within a week or two, its full and I have enough veggie bits to make a huge pot of stock.

The benefits to this are, I think, huge.  For one, its free.  I’m using water and scraps from vegetables that I’ve bought for something else.  Being able to use scraps that would otherwise go in the trash makes me feel better about not finding a way to compost them.  It gives me something to do with the celery that’s gone limp in the drawer sooner than I believe it should have, a way to get rid of that last handful of spinach that isn’t enough to do anything with, and a way to use the brussels sprouts that I just had to have but never got around to cooking.  I haven’t done any real scientific comparison, but it has to be more nutritious than the stock I would buy in the store.  Also, its fun to see what color the stock turns out.  The latest batch was bright orange, a product of (I guess) the red pepper tops, carrot peelings, swiss chard stems and beet greens.  The last batch, thanks to a ton of spinach and kale, was a deep, murky green.

There are downsides, though.  The most tedious is that once I make two gallons of vegetable stock, I have to find two gallons worth of containers to store it in, and then find space for those in the freezer.  The real trouble, though, is that inevitably I decide that it is time to make soup right after I use the last bit of stock.  What this means is that every time I want to make soup (which happens rather a lot in the winter), I have to first make stock, and the soup-making process turns into a multiple step stock making/cooling/straining/storing/soup cooking extravaganza in the kitchen when what I really wanted to do was throw on a pot of soup to simmer and then sit down and knit on my shawl.

Mostly, though, its worth it in the end.  Exhibit A:

Isn’t that just the happiest pot of soup ever?  Its spinach and white beans and tomatoes (based on this recipe) and looks like Christmas in a bowl.

And that’s what I have to say about that.  Its possible that before another month is up, I’ll find time to drag out the camera and take some pictures of knitting and blog about something topical.  Possible, but not probable.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 04:12:25

    I absolutely LOVE this! I have no idea why I didn’t think of it before. Thanks for posting!

    Reply

  2. Crystal
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 00:41:00

    Love it! I’ll have to start doing this, especially since I’ll be making my veggie soup all the time in this frigid cold. Check out the recipe on my blog (search for vegetable soup).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

