Lest You Think I Know What I Am Doing

Three sweaters.  Something wrong with each of them.

Abalone, the sweater at the bottom, has been bound off no less than three times.  I must have done something wrong when I was picking up stitches to put a border around the edges because all of my bind-offs were too inelastic to allow it to drape properly.  Even when I used the bind off called for in the pattern.  (It was an i-cord bind off.  It took two hours to do.  Ripping it out was painful.)  Even when I bound off with a needle two sizes larger than the one I had knit with.  In the end, I used Elizabeth Zimmerman’s sewn bind off, and it seems to be light and elastic enough that it if I block the sweater, it might lay properly.  Then again, I might have to rip out the bind off and all 16 rows of edging and do it all over again.

Goodale, the crazy colored sweater at the top right, came together swimmingly.  Then I got to the end and decided to do the finishing My Way instead of following the pattern instructions.  Bad move.  My Way totally misunderstood the way the sweater was going to lay when it was on a body versus on a blocking board.  Seams were pulled out, the iron was involved, and after a few hours, it seems to be back in order.  Now, its just needs a button, but it was pretty touch-and-go last night.

And the orange sweater.  That’s Coraline, and I’ve been working on it for nearly a year, and it is going to be my undoing.  I have fought with that sweater every. single. step. of the way, from swatching and getting gauge to finding the right needle to basic counting to figuring out how to smock to the bloody frelling short rows that are tripping me up now.  Something has Gone Wrong with the stitch count and I don’t know if its a product of the smocking or the short rows or of incorporating the two together, but its a mess.  Its starting to get cool again, and I really would like to wear the sweater, though, so sooner than later, I am going to have to suck it up and figure out what’s happening and what to do about it.  The sweater has been sitting for most of the summer, long enough that I’ve forgotten how tedious the yoke was to knit, so if I need to, I might be able to find it in myself to rip that whole bit out and start over.

For now, though, I have three sweaters (three!) that have managed to go awry, and I thought you should know…..Just in case you were under the impression that I had a handle on this whole knitting thing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 02:33:11

    Gah, I hate it when all my knitting conspires against me! But this shall pass for you, too. Wrestle it to the ground!

    Reply

  2. sarah {The Student Knitter}
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 09:50:50

    I am totally at this place with a sweater right now and am ready to abandon it for another! For me, knitting is supposed to be easy and fun and when I start to get frustrated, I bail. lol

    I hope they all find their way to completion!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

