What I Did on My Summer Vacation

I’m more than a little disturbed to find myself suddenly on this side of Labor Day, but the weather in DC is at least being a good sport, and allowing us a taste of fall weather.  The summer was crammed with a lot of work, three trips, and a lot of knitting.  I’m not quite ready to give it up, so the cool weather feels like a little bit of a consolation prize.

Since I blogged last–months ago!–I’ve been to Chicago and met Sue, the largest, most complete T-Rex.

I love the Smithsonian and feel really blessed to live someplace where there are so many free museums, but I enjoyed The Field Museum more than I’ve ever enjoyed our Museum of Natural History.

Later in the summer, Jason and I went to Seattle.  We spent a few days together visiting friends and exploring the city.  I really, really loved Seattle, but as soon as we got home, it rained for about a week to remind me that I couldn’t handle the Pacific Northwest’s weather.

After a few days, I left Jason with Liz and Nate to continue romping around the city, and I headed out with a group of Ravelry friends for a knitting retreat in the mountains.  We spent the weekend in a cabin at St. John’s Pass, knitting and spinning and talking and laughing.  Its always great when online friends are just as amazing in person as they are on the internet.

I test knit a sock for Allison, which has since been published on Ravelry.  It uses some crazy New Pathways type construction that was a lot of fun to work with, even if it did require math.  A month later, it is still just a single sock.

I taught myself to Navajo ply (this is Targhee, dyed by A Verb for Keeping Warm):

And then tried again, and did a much better job:

(That one is BFL from Teresa Levite Studios.)

And, I made a few sweaters, which still need to be properly photographed and, in the case of the one at the top, properly finished.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 09:10:50

    What I haven’t been able to fathom is how in the HELL you managed to finish two sweaters in one summer! I mean… HOW????

    Reply

  2. autumnbriars
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 13:56:00

    Well…..one of the sweaters is really a vest, and the other has short sleeves, and both of them are plain stockinette. Plus, I had a long flight and two days locked in a cabin where I did nothing but knit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

