Why I Never Get Anything Done

The first thing on my list of things to do this morning was to write up this marketing outline thing that I’ve been trying to put together for three days.  I was pretty sure it would take about 15 minutes once I actually started to work on it.  It was going to be the fastest thing in the world.  This is what happened:

Put coffee in French press.  Forget to set time.  Sit down at computer.  Open document.  Open Firefox.  Read a few blog posts.  Open email.  Reply to an email from a student.  Start to reply to another email.  Remember coffee.

Get up.  Go fix coffee.  Sit back down at computer.  Open Ravelry.  Read some forum posts.  Read more blogs.  Remember email-in-progress.  Finish writing email.  Read the three emails that came in while I was writing that email.  Reply to two of them.  Finish coffee.  Decide that I should get dressed and move to my desk and do Serious Work.

Go into the bedroom to get dressed.   Decide that it makes sense to shower first.  Go into the bathroom.  Get distracted by the mess on the counter.  Clear the counter.  Notice mildew on shower curtain.  Get distracted by cleaning the bathtub and shower.  Shower and get dressed.

Realize that I am hungry.  Pour a bowl of cereal.  Sit down at desk.  Reply to third email, and notice two more.  Start to reply to one.  Decide that I am really, SERIOUSLY going to work.  Open the document.  Type a few lines.  Decide it would look better with bullet points instead of numbers.  Play with formatting for ten minutes.  Forget what I had wanted to say.  Notice sock-in-progress on desk.  Knit a few rows while staring at the screen.

Remember that I need to check a client out from yesterday.  Check out client, look over schedule.  Click back over to email.  Notice a bill is due.  Open sticky notes to find the password to pay bill online, and spot the name of a song I’d made a note of.  Pay bill, then YouTube the song.

Go back to the document and actually finish it…..nearly three hours after I started.  Its really kind of ridiculous.  (But I did manage to finish a pair of socks!  Pattern is Froot Loops, yarn is Three Irish Girls Adorn in the colorway Mimosa.  I totally did not mean to knit these, but the colorway just kind of leaped off the shelf at me and demanded to be worked with RIGHT NOW.  When yarn gets that lippy, its generally a bad idea to say no.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 01:12:20

    They are fabulous and that color does say…”touch me, feel me, love me!”

    Reply

  2. pdxknitterati
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 01:41:39

    I feel just as scattered, but you call it fast forward, and I call it slowed down. Either way, I’m not getting much done!

    Your socks are pretty; I love that colorway. So cheery!

    Reply

  3. Lizzy
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 16:11:30

    Hahaha! I love you so much! 🙂 Your life is like a mirror of mine, only you have an actual job type thing and actually produce FO’s 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

