The Past Few Weeks…

…(mostly) in pictures.

I finished socks.  Pyroclastic, on Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino in Rhubarb.  I love the color.  I love the yarn.  I love the shaped arch.  I modified the oattern to have one less cable repeat and therefore be smaller, and I don’t love that I didn’t realize it would make the point of the top of the foot happen between two cables instead of at the center of one.

I discovered Burnt Mills park and the wonderful boulders and creek there.  Can’t wait to go back and spend more time, and to explore further down the trail.

I spun yarn.  This is silk and merino from a Sanguine Gryphon batt that Christine gave me for Christmas a few years ago.  The color is called Blanche Fleur.  Its far from perfect, but it was the first time I had spun from a batt, the first time I spun silk, and the first time I made anything so lightweight.  (This is something like a sport weight.)  There is about 350 yards here, and I think it might want to be a shawlette when it grown up.

And, I visited Glen Echo for the first time in several years.  We rode the carousel (an original 1921 Dentzel).  It is magical.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pia
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 23:57:21

    Oh! I want to go check out Glen Echo… I have a special place in my heart for merry-go-rounds…. the Tall Guy proposed to me at the one on the Natl’ Mall!

    Reply

  2. pdxknitterati
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 01:11:43

    Pretty socks! Does the change in cable placement make you crazy enough that you’d make another pair just to see if you could get it to come out the way you want? That happens to me; I get a bit obsessed! I hope you can just enjoy the socks the way they are; they’re really nice. I love the arch shaping. Elegant!

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 02:28:36

    Oh my goodness! I forgot all about Glen Echo. My family lived just outside of D.C. (across the street from the Balston metro stop) several years back. I remember taking my kindergarten class to Glen Echo to ride the carousel and see a puppet show. They were working on restoring the bumper cars when I was there. Are they done yet? I completely miss that little corner of the world. My family LOVED visiting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

