FO: Umbrous

My Ravelry friends are amazing.  They can get their brains around knitterly concepts that I could never suss out on my own.  A month or so ago, in between being sick, raising kids, looking for a new house to buy, and being more that a little pregnant, Crystal designed a lace shawl.  I still don’t know how she managed it, but it was beautiful and when she put out a call for test knitters, I jumped on it.

I’m kind of a slow knitter, especially where lace that I have to rip out three times is concerned, so by the time I finished knitting she already had the shawl for sale on Ravelry.  And you should knit it because its just lovely.

The pattern is designed to be knit with any weight of yarn, and I understand that the edging can be knit with any number of repeats, which means that the final product can be as large as you like.  I knit mine in Three Irish Girls McClellan Lace in a colorway called Topaz, which The Backwards Loop carried for about a minute.

It reminds me of leaves in the fall.

Its been said that the pattern isn’t really suited to beginning lace/shawl knitters, but I’m not sure I agree.  It definitely takes attention, but the darling little leaves become clear pretty quickly, and its fairly simple to catch mistakes almost right away and fix them before they create a disaster.  After the first few pattern repeats, I stopped using lifelines, and the only place that really tripped me up was beginning the edging, but that was just because I can’t count.

The shawl is pretty big.  It blocked out to be 42″ from tip to tip, across the long top edge.  That’s nearly wide enough to be a proper shawl, and if I really wanted it to be, I could probably get it there by blocking more severely.  Its 29″ from the top edge to the bottom point, which makes it too long for someone as short as me to wear as a shawlette with the point in the front and the sides wrapped around.

I have no idea what I’m going to do with it, but for now it makes me happy just sitting in the living room where I can see it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 02:13:42

    You very nearly made me cry. *sniffle* You rock, chica!!!

    Reply

  2. pdxknitterati
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 02:24:55

    It’s gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

