Can’t type. Busy knitting.

Really, I am.  Despite radio silence, there are things happening with yarn.

There was my Ravelympics shawl, which I finished back at the end of February.  Its still a little curled at the top edge and the bottom isn’t as open as it should be.  I need to block it, but I haven’t managed to take it off long enough to do that.

The pattern is Little Colonnade by Stephen West.  The yarn is Kells Sport Merino from Three Irish Girls, in Sheepn…, a colorway dyed specially for the 3IG Ravelympics team, inspired by a picture of a big, shaggy sheep.

There is also a nearly finished baby sweater, but it is a gift and sort of a secret, so I’m not going to show it off here.

I’m modifying the Pyroclastic pattern from Knitty to be a smaller size with fewer repeats, but haven’t taken pictures of the single finished sock.

I’m also test knitting an fantastic leafy lace shawl for a Ravelry friend in some wool/bamboo laceweight yarn.  Its been bumpy going but I’m finally halfway through the set-up chart and it looks like it should work out this time.

A few weeks ago, I picked up a crochet hook for the first time and made a cuddly Cthulhu for a friend’s birthday.

He isn’t perfect, but for my first crocheted critter and something made on a whim, I think he’s pretty great.  I love his wee wings, and the fact that the pattern had instructions labeled “tentacle round!”  The yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh Merino, left over from a hat and scarf set I made for a friend, and Jason chose the button eyes from my grandmother’s button box.  I probably would have gone with black or navy blue, but the glowing red adds a nice touch.  If I made another Cthulhu, I’d crochet at a tighter gauge (I knew that going in, but didn’t have any hooks between this size and lace size) and weight the bottom so that he stands more easily on his own.

Lastly, this unimpressive pile of orange stockinette……

…has become an even larger pile of unimpressive stockinette, including the bottom third of a sweater body and two three-quarter length sleeves, all of which will soon be joined together so that I can knit the smocked top and finally be finished with the stockinette death march.  The next time I decide to knit an adult sized sweater on 2.75 mm needles, someone please suggest that maybe its not a good idea.  I’m excited to see how it comes together, though!  Pity I’ll be finishing it just in time for warm weather.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

