Too much yarn? Really?

I just had a thought that has totally thrown me, and I admit knowing that my husband is going to feel totally vindicated.
The background: I am working on a sweater and am deep into the stockinette death march, so I need something interesting to work on.  The seemingly unending sweater sleeves *need* to be my mindless travel knitting, so anything else that I begin has to be somewhat involved.  I can’t just haul off and cast on a pair of plain old socks.  I’ve got some cabled mitts three quarters of the way finished, but I don’t feel like knitting cables.  I have a baby sweater mostly finished, but I want to do the sleeves and hem differently than the pattern calls for, and so its sitting and percolating while I figure out what I want to do.
The solution: I need to cast on a new project.  I have no birthdays, events, or weather issues that I *need* to knit for.  I finished my Ravelympics project.  (Photos following when I stop being lazy and take them.)
The problem: I don’t know what to knit. I don’t know what to knit because I have too many options and I am paralyzed by indecision.  I have been trying to figure out what to start for three days.
I have a cute kit from Woolgirl, but I don’t think I want to knit cables.  I have the yarn for two three sweaters and a vest, but think I should finish the one on the needles before I start another.  I have yarn chosen for at least three shawlettes (but they start off pretty mindlessly, so they might endanger the sweater and anyway, I think they need the needles I’m using for the sweater), a cute scarf, a shawl, and a clapotis.  And let’s not even get in to all the possible socks.
A minute ago, I found myself standing in front of the hutch where the hand-dyed sock yarns are stored, a skein of deep red merino/cashmere/nylon in in one hand and some soft blue and white BFL in the other, staring up at the shelf of yarn, contemplating the heavier weights in the closet, thinking–and this is unprecedented–“I have too much yarn.”

(There are some knitters who are going to have to take a collective gasp here.  I’ll wait.)
I believed it for a second.  I started trying to find things that I could destash.  I found a sum total of three, so I’m thinking that maybe the too much yarn thing was an overreaction….but I probably should get serious about not buying anymore yarn for a while.
Leave a Reply

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

