Yarn, Music and Food: A few of my favorite things.

The thing about holiday knitting is that it makes for really lame blogging.  Luckily, lots of other things have been going on.

I’m nearly finished with a project that’s been on hold for eleventy million years while I worked on a bunch of other things.  I’m a third of the way through a new project that I cast on this weekend.  I can’t tell you what it is, but I can tell you that I’m working with Three Irish Girls’ Lindon merino for the first time and I love it.  The colorway is called Backwards Loop, and was designed for one of my favorite online yarn shops.

I didn’t expect to love it as much as I do, since I’m usually not a fan of yellow.  Its also really, really novel to be knitting with such thick yarn.  I’m used to sock yarn on size 1 needles, and this is aran weight on size 6s.  (Am I the only person in the world who knits aran yarn on size 6s?  Its a little silly.)  I’m using the new Knit Picks Zephyr needles, and I like that the acrylic has a little give to it, but holy woah does the plastic slow me down.

I finished test knitting these mitts, but they are still waiting for buttons and I have no pictures.  I bought two sets last week, but I don’t think I like either.  My interpretation of the pattern is done in a soft alpaca, which makes them look very different from the smooth, solid looking silk in the original model.

I also have a stack of fat quarters here, waiting to be turned in to a quilt.  I am reasonably terrified, and sure that no good can come of this.

Last Monday was my birthday, and my husband planned an epic weekend.  On Friday, he met me at work to surprise me with tickets to the Springsteen concert that night in Baltimore.  I am still astounded that he managed to play for three and a half hours with no break and, as near as I can tell, no water.  The show was fantastic, and I can totally see how and why Springsteen became the legend that he is.

The actual show aside, it was a really interesting experience because I’ve gotten used to being one of the oldest people at the concerts I go to, and at the Springsteen show, I was easily ten years younger than the young end of the majority of the people there.

On Saturday, I hosted a meet-up for some of the ladies in the Three Irish Girls yarn club.  I thought that it was going to be just a hand full of local knitters, but in the end, there were 14 of us, to include Sharon, who for all intents and purposes is 3IG, plus four kids.  We had a great time, and were able to give Sharon her Christmas gift early.  The group on Ravelry assembled a log cabin blanket knit from scraps of her yarn.  I was dubious about how it would turn out, but in the end it was absolutely beautiful.  I was too busy running around and talking to people to take any decent pictures, but there is a great photo set here.

I had a little down time on Sunday, and then Jason whisked me away to Bethesda.  The first stop was a little athletic shop that I never knew existed, to pick out new running shoes.  It was a total surprise, and a lot of fun.  I can’t remember the last time I had a shoe sales person actually fit me for shoes, or even went shoe shopping with a specific-but-flexible goal in mind.  Usually, I am either just poking around, or know that I want a pair of black Dansko clogs in size 37.  It was fun to be able to tell the girl what I needed and have her bring me suitable things to try.  I wound up with a pair of stability shoes and am surprised by how much they change my stride.  (Some of my muscles are surprised by that, too, and are still not sold on the idea of having to work in new and different ways.)  In addition to needing stability, I evidently also needed bigger shoes.  The pair I have been wearing is a full size too small.  I never realized it wasn’t very comfortable until I put them on after wearing my new shoes.

After that, it was off to Visions for dinner with friends and family.  We asked Chef Tony to put together a tapas style meal of Italian and Mediterranean-ish foods, and he just ran from there.  All of the food was amazing, but the mussels in some sort of butter and wine sauce and the calamari that just melted in your mouth were my very favorites.  Carlos, the chef’s right-hand man, as I understand it, somehow remembered the prosecco I liked back in May and wowed everyone with hummingbird mojitos (the only kind I like), and I think (I hope) Tony charmed some of my Bethesda-area friends into making Visions a regular stop.  My parents came up for the party, and I got to catch up with some friends who I haven’t seen in about a million years and got lots and lots of hugs, which always makes me happy.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 06:18:44

    Lucky you! Springsteen and yarn? Happy birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

