In Which I Am Not In Portland

Despite this being a perfectly lovely weekend, I have spent the better part of it wishing that I was at Sock Summit.  I knew the moment I heard about it, many months ago, that I needed to be there.  I had every intention of being there.  My husband even agreed that probably it wasn’t a bad idea for me to be there.

But then we booked a vacation to Europe.  One that we would return from only a few weeks before the Summit.  And I realized that I hadn’t seen my best friend in half a year and had scarcely spoken to her since the beginning of the summer, and that before we got too deep into autumn, I was due for a trip to Chicago.  Even within my narrow world view, best friends and ancient ruins and the Irish countryside trump knitting conventions–even very large, sock oriented, epic knitting conventions that all my best Ravelry friends are going to be at.  And so I decided not to go. It was the smart, responsible decision, but that has not stopped me from being absolutely green with envy or stalking the Twitter-feed for the Summit.

In an attempt to distract myself from the fact that I was not in Portland, I tried to fill the time with as many interesting things as possible.  Somehow, a great deal of that has involved food.  Saturday morning, we went to the farmer’s market and brought home a ton of produce that we added to what Jason had already picked up at the farmer’s market in Penn Quarter on Thursday.  (I have no idea what I’m going to do when they close for the winter.)  I also brought home three herb plants–rosemary, parsley and dill.  I’m taking bets on how long it takes me to kill them.

Then, we headed into the city to play tourist at museums that wouldn’t let me take pictures.  We hit the National Building Museum first, and I absolutely loved it.  I have no idea why I didn’t make a point to go sooner–its a museum about everything I love.  My favorite was the exhibit focusing on the history of DC, even if it needs updating and I think its remiss in not mentioning Ben’s Chili Bowl in the section about U Street.  We also made it to the International Spy Museum.  It was fun, but we thought it was open an hour longer than it really was, so we only had about 90 minutes to get through, and wound up really rushing.  I’d like to go back again when we can really take our time.

We wound up at Central for dinner, which was probably the only time I wasn’t wishing I was in Portland.  It was absolutely amazing.  I saw a Yelp reviewer mention that they would eat there every night if they were rich, and I think I agree with them.  I can’t say a single bad thing about it, except that possibly I drank too much wine, since I came home and promptly crashed.

Today was all about cooking.  We took the produce from the farmer’s markets:

And turned it in to ratatouille, a tomato cheese tart, and a salad of heirloom tomatoes and cucumbers.  I’m particularly excited about the ratatouille, which is delicious.  I would have liked to play outside a little, but it was sweltering hot.  We did head down to the pool for a little while late in the day.  I always forget that its there, somehow, and this was the first time I’ve been down since it opened for the season.

Ironically, what I did not do this weekend was knit a single stitch on a sock.  It seems like there’s something wrong with all my projects (even if its just that I can’t be arsed to wind another hank of yarn), so I’ve been keeping busy knitting tiny squares for my sock yarn scrap blanket.  I’m a square and a half from having the third row completed.  Assuming it really is as wide as I want it, which I’m still debating.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

