FO: Ulmus

I took the pins out of my Ulmus this afternoon, which means that my brother’s baby has my permission to make his or her appearance. I was starting to worry that I wasn’t going to be finished in time.

Here it is looking unblocked and unimpressive on my balcony.

And here it is happy and blocked on the lawn.

I made the medium size, and the main body turned into kind of a slog, but that’s probably because I had to keep ripping back and not any real fault of the patterns. It turned into TV knitting pretty quickly, and even the lace was simple enough and only needed a little attention.

The yarn is Kinsale, a wool/tencel blend from Three Irish Girls and it was really, really lovely. It has a slight sheen, isn’t at all splitty, and has perfect drape for a shawl. As a fun, added detail, tencel comes from wood pulp and that seemed oddly appropriate for my woodworking brother.

Its really a good thing that I would never wear anything in these colors, or I might be tempted to keep it for myself. As it is, I’m considering color options for when I do make one for myself, and queuing up other, more complicated, lace projects to try out.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 23:35:40

    Beautiful! I love the leafy border. Come on, baby!

    Reply

  2. dragonsnlace
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 17:59:47

    Nice color choice. It turned out well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

