Beautiful Morning Baby Sweater

Springtime in DC means rain and lots of it, so this was the perfect project to get me through the cloudy days.  A simple garter yoke raglan for mostly mindless knitting, offset by the most cheerful colors ever in the world.  It still needs blocking and buttons, but I’m calling it finished.

The yarn is Kells Sport merino from Three Irish Girls in the colorway “Oh What a Beautiful Morning.”  (April Pick of the Knitter shipment.)  I had previously only used Kells for socks, but it has a gorgeous sheen and lovely drape, and I foresee  using it for more sweaters in the future.

I’m torn about the buttons.  On the one hand, I think it would be adorable with some tiny frogs or bluebirds or something.  Or even just plain matte yellow plastic buttons.  On the other hand, I have some simple white buttons that are the right size in my grandmother’s button box.  The sweater is for my brother’s baby, and using her old buttons just seems fitting.  I’m leaning towards sentimental over cute, but I guess we’ll see what happens.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    May 08, 2009 @ 17:11:41

    Sweet! I’m voting for sentimental…

    Reply

  2. Agnes
    May 12, 2009 @ 15:38:30

    Beautiful! Yes, ITA – my vote is for sentimental too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

