Everything from the last post, only bigger.

My FLS is finished blocking, but it still needs buttons.  Its hard to think about buttons for a wool sweater because suddenly, it is 90 degrees in DC and the thought of touching a sweater strikes fear in my heart.

I’ve finished the neckline on Ms. Marigold and joined it into the round.  I hate, hate, hate the needles I’m using.  I’ve never been a huge fan, but after working with the Knit Picks circs, which have a reasonable cable, working with my old interchangeables feels like knitting with two needles connected by a tree trunk.  It is impossible to lay the vest out flat so that it looks like anything at all, but I did my best.  The stockinette does not loot at all even and pretty, partly because of the slightly uneven texture of the yarn and partly because of my frelling needles, but I’m pretty confident that it will smooth itself out after it has a nice soak.

And, I’ve finished spinning the January Wooly Wonders shipment from A Verb for Keeping Warm.  Its Falklands roving, and I would love to work with this fiber again.

The yarn weight still isn’t as consistent as I would like, but I’m getting there.  I think this is the most balanced yarn I’ve managed to make, which was exciting.  Its really easy for me to overtwist when I ply.

I love the colors in this yarn, and how they shift from greens to browns in a very organic way.  I don’t know what this wants to be, but it reminds me of a few guys I know, so I’m sure by this winter it will become something for one of them.  I’m not naming names because it might be a Christmas present, but if you want to put in a good word for yourself, now would be the time.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

