Some days, all I can handle are tiny squares.

I had some of those days this weekend, and added blocks to the blankie I’m making from sock yarn scraps.

(Please to be ignoring the cat fur. I swear that I vacuumed just the other day. There’s just nothing for it.)

I think that the blankie is fabulously terrible, and finishing the little squares makes me feel very accomplished. This is a good thing, because while I should have been trusted only with simple mitered squares, I went and finished socks. I wish I could say that I finished a pair of socks, but…well….

I didn’t. At best, these socks are cousins. Possibly fraternal twins, which might not have been such a bad thing if I hadn’t meant for them to be more or less identical.

There really is no telling what I was thinking, but let’s talk about all the ways that these went wrong. The toe of the sock on the left? Its at least two rows shorter than the one on the right. Best part about that is that initially, I thought it was too long, and ripped back several rows. The feet seem more or less the same, but probably are a few stitches off from one another. And then there is the leg. Oh, the leg. It made my husband laugh and ask, as politely as he could manage, if the socks were supposed to be the same. Well yes. Yes, they were. But the one on the left tries hard to stripe and doesn’t quite succeed and the one of the left isn’t at all shy about swirling. I might have been able to write that off as a quirk of handknit yarn is not for the fact that the sock on the right is no less than four stitches bigger than the one on the left. Four is a lot of stitches. Four is something like a quarter of an inch. Maybe closer to a half. Its bigger enough that wearing them at the same time feels weird and confuses my feet.

This is not okay.

I’m calling them done because I can’t stand to look at them again right now, but eventually, one of them will have to be frogged and reknit, so that I can try to have two socks that bear more than a passing resemblance to one another.

(The yarn, by the way, is Beckon Stretch Merino from Three Irish Girls’ Sock Yarnista club, and it is lovely.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 23:38:37

    I don’t think I’ve ever made two socks in a pair exactly the same. There’s always something. And I think your socks look enough like each other that you’d get away with it. Four sts *is* about 1/2 inch, but I bet you’d never know after you washed them. Always moving forward! Oh, they’re lovely, by the way.

    Reply

  2. pdxknitterati
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 23:51:25

    PS: I love your little mitered squares! Are you picking up from the previous one to make them, or sewing them together?

    Reply

  3. M Ward
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 01:04:58

    Ooo, I need to start my sock yarn blanket.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: No progress. « Ripped & Frogged

Leave a Reply

Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

