I have real issues.

I’ve been tidying the living room, and part of that always entails culling the yarn.  My stash is nothing compared to a lot of people, but the yarn does generally come in faster than it goes out, and I have a habit of dragging it out a lot to toy with different ideas.  I’m not going to show you a picture of what I had piled on the ottoman a few minutes ago because I think its evidence best not displayed to my husband.  What I will tell you is that a club shipment arrived yesterday, plus I brought yarn back from Chicago, plus I just finished a swap project and spinning some BFL.  Things were kind of a mess.

My particular drug of choice when it comes to yarn is hand painted sock yarn.  I know I’m not a rare breed that way.   For a long time, I was keeping it in one of those clear plastic containers that’s meant to hold a big skein of center pull yarn with the working end coming out of the top.  I outgrew that awhile ago, and moved some stuff to the stash and some other things into my computer hutch.

Today, I pulled some older yarn from that plastic bin–it lives next to my chair in the living room–to move into the stash in the closet.  I was trying to figure out what to replace it with, and was a little alarmed to realize that I actually felt guilty sending hand painted yarn to live in the stash in the closet.  Someone (in many cases, someone who I have at least a vague, online relationship with through blogs and Ravelry)  went through a lot of trouble to make that yarn pretty, and put a lot of thought into just how to work with the colors, and it makes me happy and I like to look at it….And I was about to show my gratitude by stuffing it into a dark closet (there are monsters in there!) in an even darker plastic storage bin.  It made me feel sad for the yarn, and I started looking for something that could contain it while still showing it off.

My eyes fell on the glass cake tray in the kitchen, and for a few seconds, it seemed like a really, really good idea.  The cake tray was pretty.  The yarn was pretty.  Wouldn’t beautifully dyed yarn look just as nice under the tray’s domed lid as a dozen perfectly iced cupcakes?  I almost never use the cake tray, and it sits on the shelf over the fridge, taking up space for no real reason except that once it twice a year I might want it for a cake.  It made such sense to just put the pretty yarn in it, possibly wound into cakes and stacked, or maybe just in a festive pile of hanks.  Every time I walked into the kitchen, I could see the pretty yarn and it would make me happy.  The yarn would be happy, too, out in the light but away from the dust (I admire people who can store their yarn out in the open, on pegs on the wall or in dishes or baskets on the shelves.  I am not a good housekeeper, and my yarn would be full of dust and gross inside of a week), where it could be properly admired.

This whole thought process went on for approximately four seconds before I was stricken with the reality that I had reached the level of crazy where things like storing yarn in the cake tray were a good idea, and while I am the sort of eccentric that isn’t bothered by being a little unhinged (and rather think the folks who have started using broken dishwashers and the insides of pianos are brilliant and have their priorities in good order) I hadn’t reached the place where I was ready to explain to my husband just why the yarn was invading the kitchen–particularly when there was still plenty of room in the box in the closet.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:34:13

    You know, I don’t see anything wrong with using the cake tray. I think it would look great! I must be some kind of crazy, too…

    Reply

  2. Missy
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 15:22:26

    Pretty things are pretty things – even if they’re meant for something else. And hand-painted yarn deserves to be called art, just as much as a painting does. I see nothing wrong with displaying it! And the cake tray is a great idea! I’ve used mine as a display stand before!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

