Christmas Knitting Revealed

Having exchanged all of my Christmas gifts, I can finally talk about the projects that kept me busy over the past few months.

There were Mom’s Garden Socks, in Noro Silk Garden Sock.

I loved the way the yarn striped, but I absolutely hated working with the base yarn. It had no give at all, and it killed my hands. The good news is that mom loved them, and that made it totally worth it.

There were Jason’s house socks. When I saw this yarn in Gryphon’s shop, I knew that it needed to be socks for him.

This picture really does not do them justice.  They’re unblocked, which makes both the heel flap and ribbing look a little lumpy, and they are on my feet, which are about 7 sizes smaller than my husband’s.

The yarn (Traveller, in Wales) was wonderful to knit with, and the only trouble it gave me at all is that I finished the second sock with about two yards to spare, and there were a few terrifying hours when I thought I would have to rip back the first sock, use that yarn to finish the second sock, and somehow find plain black yarn to do the toes.

And, at the very last minute, there was a cowl, also for my husband.

I bought him a new winter coat about ten days before Christmas, and decided that it needed a scarf to go with it. I wasn’t able to find a scarf that I liked for a price that I thought was reasonable (for something I could make myself), so a cowl seemed like the obvious answer. My choices for yarn were (probably thankfully) limited by what the LYS by my spa had in stock, and I wound up with Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted. I’m not sure how I made it this long without knitting with that yarn, but I have a feeling it’ll become a staple. I kind of wanted to keep the cowl for myself.

Now that all of my knitting obligations have been met, I’m left wanting to cast on for everything all at once. That can’t mean good things.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Missy
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 16:44:12

    I added your blog to my Google Reader after poking around friends’ pages on Ravelry a few days ago, and wanted to tell you I’m finding it very inspiring! I shall attempt socks soon!! 🙂

    Missy/ViolaVanWilde on BPAL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

