I made yarn!

I finished my handspun over the weekend, and now somehow it is already Wednesday and I’m just getting around to blogging about it.

Christine and a couple folks on Ravelry pointed out that I was making the plying process way more complicated than it needed to be (if you can imagine me doing something like that), and navajo plying wasn’t necessary at all.  I wound up diving the singles between two bobbins instead of just winding them into a center pull ball because that was how I tried to ply the yarn I spun on my drop spindle, and that did not end well.  I was surprised how quickly the plying went, and decided while I was sitting on the balcony spinning and watching the cat watch the squirrels that when I buy my own wheel, it needs to be at least somewhat portable.  I like spinning outside too much to have one that is totally stationary.

Once the yarn was plied, I was at a loss as to how it should be skeined, since I don’t have any fancy-schmancy tools for that.  After some internet research, I decided to be super classy, and wind it around the legs of a dining room chair.  It actually worked out really well, except that I did absolutely nothing in the way of figuring out how many yards of yarn I had.

The skein twisted a little once it was wound together, which I’ve been led to believe means something, but I’m not entirely sure what.

In any event, the yarn had a bath.

I checked on it pretty compulsively while it was soaking, but I have no idea what I thought was going to happen.  Maybe I was worried that it would melt?  Grow to ten times its size like those giant dinosaur toys?  (Actually, I think I was just worried that the sink wouldn’t properly hold water.)

It hung in the shower overnight to dry, and in the morning, it didn’t twist around itself at all, which my totally halfassed research tells me means its balanced.  At least, I think that’s what it means.  I’m hazy on just about all the details, here.

I could not be happier with my finished product.

Its bouncy and lofty and not nearly as scratchy as I expected, and while I don’t think I would want it next to my skin, it seems to be totally useable.  That’s huge, because (as Christine was quick to point out), not long ago I was sure that I couldn’t do this at all.

It is even kind of sort of mostly the same weight, which really blows me away.

I don’t think I’ve been this excited since I figured out how to make socks.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jason
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 15:26:00

    Totally worth cross-posting to your regular blog 🙂

    Reply

  2. preita
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 17:00:44

    Congrats! I’m a new to spinning too & am also completely hooked. Your yarn looks fabu! Nicely done 😀

    Reply

  3. Penny
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 13:09:10

    That’s fabulous yarn, yay you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

