Hey, look!

I finished something! And its even something I can show you! (If you’ll pardon the crappy picture.)

I am absolutely loving the pattern. It took a couple trips through the cable charts to really get the hang of them, but they got easier, and given how infrequently I picked it up, the sock knit up pretty quickly.

Probably it would have been better in a more solid color, but I think the subtle changes and short runs in the yarn leave the cabling unobscured enough that it works. As much as I love the color (Father Ailnoth’s Sin), I’m not sold on the yarn (Sanguine Gryphon’s Sea Sock). There isn’t anything in particular that’s wrong with it, and it feels delightful on my foot, but when I knit, it feels…squeaky. There’s something about how it slides along the needle that just doesn’t feel comfortable to me. Its a beautiful yarn with a great sheen, and it has the tight twist that I like, but I don’t think I need to buy it again.

Now, if I can work my way through some Christmas knitting, maybe this sucker can have a mate.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abigail
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 18:09:16

    Pretty!!

    Reply

  2. M Ward
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 19:03:36

    Beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Reference Services
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 13:47:45

    Your web site is outstanding!

    Here is a blog entry about a knitter during the Great War:

    http://sanduskyhistory.blogspot.com/search?q=knitting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

