FO: Birthday Bag

While I’ve been pretty enamored with the spinning wheel, there has been actual knitting going on. The trouble is that much of it has been secret knitting for birthday and holiday gifts, and I haven’t been able to talk about it here.

But! My MILs birthday has passed, and I can share her gift–the mystery project that I was felting a few weeks ago. Behold.

Pattern: Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick

Yarn: Cascade 220, The Heathers, color 4007 (held double stranded)

Needles: Size 13

The entire thing was more or less inspired by the abalone button, and Christine was a huge help in finding yarn that went with it perfectly. The yarn and button both came from Knitche (my favorite yarn shop to date) and flew home with me, where they sat for awhile so that I could find the perfect pattern. (I thought I had one, but when I went back to get it, it didn’t seem to exist. Welcome to my world.)

I’m really happy with the way it turned out. It might have been felted a little more, but I kind of like the texture it was left with. (Who am I kidding. I was finished felting. End of story.) Mary really seemed to love it, and went as far as to say that it was the best birthday present ever. She really knows how to make sure she keeps getting knitted gifts!

Leave a Reply

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

