An FO and a brainstorm.

I finished the first Popsicle sock, and I’ve decided that I’m pretty happy with it after all.

I love how the ribbing slides off the edge and am totally going to apply that same principle to another sock in the future. I also really like that there’s a good portion of stockinette on the top of the foot to really show off the yarn, which I still thing is beautiful.

Once I finished that, I had a brainstorm about the traveling sock that I frogged because of the green flashing. After a lot of fuss over how I could stay with the needles I wanted and keep things simple, I remembered that I could just knit the thing from the toe up and it would change how the colors stacked. I gave it a shot, and I’m happy with it so far.

I’ve tried this toe up business before and was pretty unimpressed. I guess I’ve gotten smarter because even though it was, as Christine would say, fiddly as $%#&, it didn’t feel as awkward as it did in the past. Using two circs also helped. There was something about having the thin, flexible needle in the cast on and first row that made it much easier to keep the stitches tight and even, as opposed to two equally thick, immobile needles to contend with.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M Ward
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 15:34:20

    Love it. *MUST* get yarn untangled so I can begin using it.

    Reply

  2. Jason
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 16:01:32

    How was the green “flashing” before exactly?

    Reply

  3. autumnbriars
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 16:09:31

    It was all kind of clumping up in a column along the left half of the front and the right half of the back, instead of spacing itself out evenly the way the blue and brown were doing. There’s no reason that had to be bad, but its not how I wanted it to look.

    There’s a picture of it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pandorasvox/2717246981/

    Reply

  4. Abigail
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 16:13:38

    oh, I don’t care for socks that pool like that either! It’s beautiful yarn though, and I’m glad you’ve found a good way to work around it. I love toe-up socks.

    Reply

  5. Valerie
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 10:22:04

    That turned out pretty spiffy! I can see why it would have been sitting really oddly on your foot before you knit it all the way through but it’s a good job you didn’t frog it or the world would have one less great pair of socks.

    Someday I’ll learn to knit socks too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

