A Wooly Weekend

Christine was here this weekend and as usual, adventure and hilarity ensued.

Against all of our better judgement, we went to the yarn store. (They were having a sale. Our willpower is only so great.) I don’t think I realized quite what an undertaking driving from my condo to Capitol Hill was, but I managed to only miss one turn (which frankly, I think was a devious Google Maps trick) and didn’t get lost at all and only possibly went the wrong way on the Beltway to get home. I might possibly be getting a little carried away buying yarn, and might possibly have bought 4 skeins of Tilli Thomas Milan. The blue is going into the stash to play with later, when I need something luscious to knit with, and the reds are becoming a chevron scarf.

We dyed yarn, using the jacquard dyes from a type dye kit and Knit Picks Bare yarn in fingering weight superwash merino/nylon. It was surprisingly easy, and we managed to get through the entire process without dying anything that wasn’t meant to be dyed. Not even the concrete on the patio. I’m pretty tickled with the final product. The entire process is documented in pictures here.

We watched a lot of Dr. Who and The Black Parade is Dead! and knitted through most of it. I was evidently paying for my monogamy with the Broadripple socks by being unable to knit on anything for more than fifteen minutes at a time. I got a bit done on those, knit a few squares for my mitered square blankie, and started and made progress on the new chevron scarf. I am totally smitten with it. Its the sort of project that you have to lay out and fawn over and pet every two rows.

Christine brought a spinning wheel, but despite her patience, I couldn’t quite seem to get a feel for it. (I officially apologize to the wheel for anything unladylike I may have said about it, or its mother.) I have the patience of a flea, so after ten or fifteen minutes, I was over fighting with it, and had only maybe a foot of some seriously dodgy looking yarn. I’m still jealous of her having the wheel, though, and would love to get my hands on one for an extended period of time, so that I had the luxury of fighting for fifteen minutes and walking away, knowing I could try again whenever I wanted.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 15:26:54

    Dyed yarn looks luscious – I went through the whole flickr set, enchanted by the colours đŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. M Ward
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 13:39:46

    Ooo, love that dyed yarn. Beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: All Kinds of Progress. « Ripped & Frogged

Leave a Reply

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

