Progress?

Broadripple, originally uploaded by autumnbriars.

My Summer of Socks knitting is kind of off to a lousy start. I cast on for these socks on Saturday, but I have two pairs still on the needles from before summer and they both need to be finished. I had grand ambitions to finish them before the 21st, but I got distracted by my tank top and they sat and didn’t get worked on. I finally finished the top of my Bruce Wayne socks yesterday and have been working the heel flap today. I have the yarn with me to start the second ‘Vog On, but I’ve hardly even looked at it.

The picture here is pretty much the sum of the knitting I’ve done that can actually count towards my SoS progress. Mostly, its been done standing in line at theme parks and on the monorail and boats and busses trying to get between locations.

I’m pretty happy with how its working up so far. The pattern is a simple two row repeat that’s easy to memorize, and I like that it works with the striping yarn instead of against it.

The jury’s still out of the Sockotta yarn. I don’t actively dislike it, but the cotton and nylon make it a little rough on my hands and I always find myself getting excited when I can pick up my Eidos again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 03:12:51

    I think what I liked about Sockotta was that it was a good beginning sock knitter yarn. Also, they make good warmer weather socks. Not my favorite, but not awful.

    Reply

  2. autumnbriars
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 01:21:33

    The Sockotta definitely isn’t awful. I like that it doesn’t split, and I’d bet that the cotton will make it turn out to be a nice summer sock yarn. Its also got pretty good stitch definition. I think I’ve just been spoiled by really decadent merinos, so to go back to more of a workhorse yarn is a little bit of culture shock.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

