Why is it…

…that we never rate yarn based on its frogability?

I’m starting to realize that its just as important to me as how soft a yarn is, or how much I like the color, or what the stitch definition is like.

Some yarns seem to be really friendly and forgiving in that respect. I’ve had issues with the second sock I’m knitting from Sanguine Gryphon’s Eidos (it may be my favorite sock yarn ever), and I’ve lost track of how many times I ripped and reknit the first few inches. The yarn is perfectly okay with that, and its just as nice as when I started.

Other yarns, like the ^%&#* Cathay that I used for my tank, are pretty freaking worthless once you’ve torn them back. You need to be careful not to screw up, and sure that you want to know what you’re doing before you start. This is not yarn to experiment with.

And then there are all manners of lovely yarn, like recycled silk or loopy mohair or, I’m told, pure silk, that are just too scrappy or textured or delicate or whatever to be ripped back once they’ve been stitched together.

This is not a fact that people often make known. I am sure than smarter knitters than I might be able to intuit how a yarn will behave, but it is not a talent I possess. I knit most of a bag (incorrectly) from recycled sari silk, and will forever be stuck with the pieces because the stitches? They don’t come apart again. I think this sort of information should totally be a part of a standard yarn review.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 18:11:48

    It should be on the label!

    Or it should be podcasted about. Loudly and disgruntledly. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

