Cathay Top–Preblocking

Cathay Top–Preblocking, originally uploaded by autumnbriars.

Lutea Lace-Shoulder Shell

Interweave Knits Summer 2007
6 balls Debbie Bliss Cathay
Size 6 needles

I got it into my head that I was going to have this finished by the end of the weekend, and here it is! It still needs to be blocked, but its close enough that I’m calling it done–and it even fits!

If I had to do it again (which I never will), I would have made it a little longer. It isn’t short, per se, but the length isn’t so flattering with most of my jeans, since they’re fairly low rise. Its fine with mid-rise bottoms, and would be fine with anything on someone who didn’t have hips.

I’ve heard several people say that the pattern was confusing to interpret, and I agree completely. Its mostly accurate, but some of the phrasing sounds like its asking you to do something different than what you’re really supposed to be doing. There is one bit of errata, and it isn’t quite right, so knitting the first lace shoulder was a little bit of an adventure.

The finished fabric is nice, but I have nothing ladylike to say about Cathay. It was, I think, a nice substitute for the recommended yarn, but it was a complete bitch to work with. It was completely splitty, no matter how dull or pointy the needles I used were, and it was totally unforgiving about being torn back. The yarn would wind up holding the crink, and getting all frazzled, with the individual strands being all pulled out of place, just adding to the splittyness.

All in all, though, for my first successful attempt at a sweater, I think its not too shabby.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 04:19:20

    Your shell came out great! Love the color. I had to make mine shorter, and changed the bottom edging to garter stitch.

    Enjoy wearing it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

