The Life of a Ball of Yarn

For nearly two years now, I have had ten balls of Debbie Bliss Cathay in a lovely shade of dark raspberry sitting in my stash, waiting to be knit. When I bought them, I also bought a book for Cathay and had every intention of making a three-quarter length sleeved cardigan. Somewhere between purchase and knitting, I decided that I didn’t actually like that sweater, and that I wanted to make Tahoe. I made the back, both fronts and started on a sleeve before I had to admit to myself that not only was it too big, it was sloppy. Into the frog pond it went.

I tried making the Summertime Tunic from Interweave Knits. Something didn’t seem right after six inches or so, and I pulled it off the needles to try on. Dude. That bad boy was a car cozy. Seriously, it could have fit around the front grill of a mini.

Thinking that surely, the third time would be the charm, I started Sizzle. Much better, but still too freaking big, despite having done a gauge swatch. (That? Is not fair. If I go to the trouble of doing a swatch, it should totally fit. There are rules.)

Last night, I started Sizzle for a second time. I stuck with the same needles, which are already a size smaller than what’s recommended, but I went down a pattern size because using smaller needles makes the fabric too stiff. I’m working in the round because whenever I try to knit two pieces that are even roughly the same size, all sorts of madness happens, and they wind up looking like creatures from entirely different planets. My theory is that if its all one piece, it eliminates one catastrophe from the list of possibilities.

Of course, I’m still terrified that it won’t fit. Clothing really just gives me angst. I don’t know why I don’t just stick to socks.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 18:13:01

    @#$@% Cathay!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

