Appropo of nothing.

1. I am not even going to tell you how many pair of shoes I just shepherded out of the living room.  I may just be the worst housekeeper on the planet.  The yarn, at least, has stayed more or less in its proper place (which is to say, tucked into every nook and cranny but not tossed on every flat surface) for the better part of two weeks.  I think that’s pretty impressive.  It may be because…

2. I’ve been occupied with learning to knit intarsia (why did I think it would be hard?) and working almost exclusively on Stephen West’s mystery shawl.  I have no idea what’s going to happen when its finished.

I’m pretty smitten with knitting it, but the colors aren’t me.  I knew that going in, but was set on working with yarn from my stash and not using the pattern as an excuse to buy more.  (I think that’s also pretty impressive.)  I have two days to knit 8 really long rows before the last clue comes out, I don’t see that happening, but I’m going to give it a go.

3.  I’m 30 years old and just two weeks ago learned to touch my toes.  I am not kidding.  Never been able to do it until now.  A few tricks taught in a yoga class combined with something a friend said about it a few months ago finally clicked, and I am not unreasonably happy about my new party trick.

4. My favorite band is playing in my favorite city for my favorite holiday and I can’t work out any reasonable way to justify going.

5.  So far, the solution I’m most strongly considering is registering for the Marine Corp 10k, thus eliminating the possibility of traveling over Halloween weekend.  This is absurd for a few reasons, the biggest of which is that 10k is exactly twice as far as I’ve ever run, followed closely by the fact that I’ve been out running maybe three times in the past year, and also the fact that I don’t really even like running–I just do it because I’d rather be outside listening to music than exercising indoors.  Still, I’ve found myself opening and closing the website a lot over the past two weeks and thinking things like, “Its only six miles, and its not for two months…..”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Abigail
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 00:52:42

    That shawl is really beautiful – I love those colors so much!! I can’t wait to see it when it is finished :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

